Evaluation of the Disease Management Programs (DMP)

Since the evaluation of Disease Management Programs (DMP) started in Germany in 2003, MNC acts as evaluator for all German statutory health insurances of the "BKK"-union (Betriebskrankenkassen), the "IKK"-union (Innungskrankenkassen) and the union of the "Ersatzkassen" (Verband der Ersatzkassen, vdek).


more info data flow tour to the downloads
Medical Netcare - Management in Health Care

Evaluation of the German Disease Management Programs (DMP)

key data at a glance

Disease Management Program Evaluation

A current focal point in our work is the scientific accompanying research (evaluation) of structured Disease Management Programs (DMP) in the indications Diabetes mellitus type 1 and 2, breast cancer, coronary heart disease, bronchial asthma and COPD, which have been started since 2003. We evaluate on behalf of several German health care associations (members of vdek, Betriebskrankenkassen, Innungskrankenkassen).

Medical Netcare and DMP-advancement

Today, about 25 million data records are delivered to MNC every year (60% medical documentations and 40% patient attributs, which are merged in a matching procedure by MNC). In the indication with the most enrolled patients, Diabetes Mellitus Type 2, almost 4 million insurants get evaluated over a timespan exceeding 10 years.

Over the years there were very different kinds of evaluation reports. This led consistently to short-term adaptations of the reports to respond to our customers' desires. Amongst other things, MNC developed the first short reports (about 40 pages), which aimed to concentrate information and to increase the readability of the reports. Before that, a report had a lenght of 500 pages and above.

As there are many different actors involved in processing the programs, of course we experienced problems. For example, there were technical problems with the uniform pseudonymisation of patients' data. MNC responded quickly and developed a consolidating method for the patient's pseudonyms. As a result, the medical documentations created in the physician's offices and the patient records delivered by the health insurance companies can be re-united to approximately 100%.



The legal framework

The programs for treating chronicle illnesses were established by a law reforming the risk adjustment among the statutory health insurance funds („Gesetz zur Reform des Risikostrukturausgleichs in der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung“), enacted on January 1st, 2002. The programs are an approach in medical care to coordinate and optimise treating and caring processes of patients during the whole course of a normally chronic disease and above the limits of individual sectoral suppliers on the grounds of consolidated scientific findings (EbM). The predominant aim is to improve the treatment of the patient and to reduce the disease-indicated limitations and secondary disorders.

The enactment of the fourth reform in risk adjustment among the statutory health insurance funds (Verordnung zur Änderung der Risikostruktur-Ausgleichsverordnung) on July 1st, 2002, which held for the first time concrete compulsory requirements for DMPs, enabled the health insurance companies to offer their insurants DMPs structured according to the law. With the beginning of 2003, the health insurance companies exercised this option for the indications Diabetes Mellitus type 2 and breast cancer as a start. Successively, the spectrum of offered DMPs widened, allowing the indications Diabetes Mellitus type 1, coronary heart disease, asthma, and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. By the end of 2007, approximately 14.000 DMPs were registered or already re-registered respectively.

Founding on the fifth volume of the Code of Social Law (SGB V), DMPs are to fulfill specific requirements with respect to the following topics:

  • treatment according to recent medical scientific standards taking into account evidence-based guidelines or the best available evidence as well as the particular supplying sector,
  • operation of Quality Assurance measurements,
  • conditions for and ways of inscribing any insurant in a DMP, encompassing the duration of participation,
  • training courses for suppliers and insurants,
  • documentation of findings, therapeutic measurements, and treating results, as well as
  • evaluation of efficacy and costs of the DMP.

DMPs are to be scientifically evaluated due to § 137f (4) and § 137g (2) Code of Social Law V (SGB V) as well as § 28g risk adjustment regulation (RisikoStrukturAusgleichsVerordnung; RSAV). Up until 2012, thereby gained medical and economic evaluation results as well as the changes in subjective quality of life (measured with the instrument SF-36) were to be reported to the Federal Office of Administration (Bundesversicherungsamt; BVA) to decide whether to re-accreditate the DMP for the respective offering health insurance company. Since 2012, the medical results are reported to the Federal Joint Committee (G-BA). The evaluation is to be executed by health insurance company- and supplier-independent experts on the basis of generally accepted scientific standards.

The recent version of the requirement guideline in DMP ("DMP-Anforderungen-Richtlinie") can be found on the internet:

DMP-A-RL (PDF)

The recent guideline by the Federal Joint Committee (G-BA) led to the first nationwide reports, which were published in July 2016. The current report does not contain any rsik-adjusted results. The last risk-adjusted results, which allow comparisons between the programs among each other, were created in 2013 according to the guidelines of the Federal Office of Administration (Bundesversicherungsamt; BVA).


New DMP in planning

The Federal Joint Committee (G-BA) was assgined to determine more chronic diseases which are suitable for the development of new DMP. In spring 2014, there was a total amount of 33 suggestions for new DMP, according to the Federal Joint Committee (G-BA). In August 2014, the Federal Joint Committee (G-BA) decided to deliberate further upon the 4 most suitable indications.

Decision suitable indications (PDF)

Meanwhile, the Federal Joint Committee (G-BA) is already assigned to define proper requirements for the next new DMPs, backache and depression, until December 31st, 2016.

Evaluation reports and downloads

We have compiled the latest evaluation reports and further documents from the Federal Joint Committee (G-BA) for you. Furthermore, you can find links to DMP-areas on websites of other actors involved in the DMP below.


Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!
Wir benutzen Cookies um die Nutzerfreundlichkeit der Webseite zu verbessen. Durch Ihren Besuch stimmen Sie dem zu.

Evaluation der Disease Management Programme (DMP)

Seit Beginn der Evaluation der Disease Management Programme im Jahre 2003 ist Medical Netcare deutschlandweit für alle BKKen, IKKen und Ersatzkassen als Evaluator tätig.


zu den Infos zur Datenfluss-Tour zu den Downloads
Medical Netcare - Management im Gesundheitswesen

Evaluation der Disease Management Programme in Deutschland

die wichtigsten Eckdaten im Überblick

Evaluation der Disease Management Programme

Ein aktueller Schwerpunkt unserer Tätigkeit ist die wissenschaftliche Begleitforschung (Evaluation) der im Jahre 2003 begonnenen Disease Management Programme in den Indikationen Diabetes mellitus Typ 1, Diabetes mellitus Typ 2, Brustkrebs, Koronare Herzkrankheit (KHK), Asthma und COPD. Im Auftrag der Mitgliedskassen des vdek, der Betriebskrankenkassen und der Innungskrankenkassen evaluieren wir alle aktuell laufenden sechs DMP-Indikationen. In diesem Rahmen fließen halbjährlich ungeheure Datenmengen zu MNC.

Medical Netcare und die DMP-Weiterentwicklung

Inzwischen werden jährlich rund 25 Mio. Datensätze allein im Rahmen der DMP an MNC geliefert, davon etwa 60% medizinische Datensätze und 40% Patientenmerkmalsdaten, die von MNC in einem Matchingverfahren zusammengeführt werden. In der größten Indikation, Diabetes Mellitus Typ 2, werden in den aktuellen Evaluationsberichten die Daten von fast 4 Millionen Patienten über einen Zeitraum von über 10 Jahren ausgewertet.

Im Laufe der Jahre wurden die verschiedensten Auswertungen gefahren, die immer wieder kurzfristige Anpassungen der Berichte erfordeten, um den Wünschen unserer Auftraggeber gerecht zu werden. MNC entwickelte unter anderem die ersten deutlich kürzeren etwa 40-seitigen Berichte, die vor allem auf Informationsverdichtung und bessere Lesbarkeit ausgerichtet waren, nachdem in den vorherigen Jahren ein Berichtsumfang von über 500 Seiten keine Seltenheit war.

Wegen der vielen verschiedenen Akteure bei der Umsetzung der Programme kam es natürlich auch zu Problemen. So gab es zum Beispiel technische Probleme bei der einheitlichen Pseudonymisierung der Patienten. MNC reagierte schnell und entwickelte ein Konsolidierungsverfahren für die Patientenpseudonyme, wodurch die in den Arztpraxen erstellten medizinischen Dokumentationen und die von den Krankenkassen gelieferten Patientendatensätze wieder zu annähernd 100% zusammengeführt werden konnten.



Der gesetzliche Rahmen

Die Chroniker-Programme wurden zum 01.01.2002 mit dem „Gesetz zur Reform des Risikostrukturausgleichs in der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung“ eingeführt. Sie sind ein Ansatz in der medizinischen Versorgung, der die Behandlungs- und Betreuungsprozesse von Patienten über den gesamten Verlauf einer in der Regel chronischen Erkrankung und über die Sektoren der einzelnen Leistungserbringer hinweg koordiniert und auf der Grundlage wissenschaftlich gesicherter Erkenntnisse (EbM) optimiert. Wesentliches Ziel dabei ist, die Behandlung der Erkrankung zu verbessern und die durch die Krankheit bedingten Beeinträchtigungen und Folgeerkrankungen zu reduzieren.

Das Inkrafttreten der 4. RSA-ÄndV (Verordnung zur Änderung der Risikostruktur-Ausgleichsverordnung) zum 1. Juli 2002, in der erstmals die gesetzlichen Anforderungen an die DMP konkretisiert wurden, ermöglichte es den Krankenkassen, ihren Versicherten dem Gesetz entsprechende strukturierte DMP anzubieten. Die Krankenkassen haben von dieser Möglichkeit mit Beginn des Jahres 2003 zunächst für die Krankheitsbilder Diabetes mellitus Typ 2 und Brustkrebs Gebrauch gemacht. In der Folge wurde das Spektrum der angebotenen Programme auf die Indikationen Diabetes mellitus Typ 1, KHK, Asthma und Chronisch obstruktive Lungenerkrankungen (COPD) ausgeweitet. Zum Ende des Jahres 2007 waren ca. 14.000 DMP zugelassen bzw. auch bereits wiederzugelassen.

Auf Grundlage des Fünften Buches Sozialgesetzbuch (SGB V) werden an DMP zu nachfolgend genannten Themen spezifische Anforderungen gestellt:

  • Behandlung nach dem aktuellen Stand der medizinischen Wissenschaft unter Berücksichtigung von evidenzbasierten Leitlinien oder nach der jeweils besten, verfügbaren Evidenz sowie unter Berücksichtigung des jeweiligen Versorgungssektors,
  • Durchführung von Qualitätssicherungsmaßnahmen,
  • Voraussetzungen und Verfahren für die Einschreibung der Versicherten in ein DMP, einschließlich der Dauer der Teilnahme,
  • Schulungen der Leistungserbringer und der Versicherten,
  • Dokumentation der Befunde, therapeutischen Maßnahmen und Behandlungsergebnisse sowie
  • Evaluation der Wirksamkeit der DMP.

Die (regional) angebotenen Programme sind nach § 137f (2) und § 137g (3) SGB V sowie § 6 der DMP-A-RL wissenschaftlich zu evaluieren. Die dabei gewonnenen medizinischen Evaluationsergebnisse sowie bis vor kurzem noch die ökonomischen Evaluationsergebnisse und die Veränderungen der subjektiven Lebensqualität mehrerer 100.000 Patienten (gemessen mit dem Instrument SF36) sind dem G-BA durch die jeweilige das Programm anbietende Krankenkasse vorzulegen. Die Evaluation hat auf der Grundlage allgemein anerkannter wissenschaftlicher Standards durch von den Krankenkassen und Leistungserbringern unabhängige Sachverständige zu erfolgen.

Die aktuelle Fassung der DMP-Anforderungen-Richtlinie des G-BA ist im Internet zu finden unter:

DMP-A-RL (PDF)

Die ersten deutschlandweiten, den G-BA-Richtlinien entsprechenden Berichte wurden im Juli 2016 veröffentlicht. Die aktuelle Berichtsform beinhaltet keine risikoadjustierten Ergebnisse. Die letzten risikoadjustierten Ergebnisse, die einen Vergleich der Disease Management Programme untereinander erlauben, wurden zuletzt im Jahr 2013 damals noch nach Vorgaben des Bundesversicherungsamt (BVA) vorgelegt.


Ausblick: neue DMP in Planung

Der G-BA wurde mit dem GKV-Versorgungsstrukturgesetz beauftragt, weitere chronische Krankheiten festzulegen, die für die Entwicklung weiterer strukturierter Behandlungsprogramme geeignet sind. Im Frühjahr 2014 gingen laut G-BA insgesamt 33 Vorschläge zu Krankheiten ein. Nach einer Prüfung beschloss der G-BA im August 2014, sich über die vier am besten geeignet erscheinenden Krankheiten weiter zu beraten.

Beschluss geeignete Indikationen (PDF)

Durch das GKV-Versorgungsstärkungsgesetz (GKV-VSG) vom 15. Juli 2015 wurde der G-BA beauftragt, Anforderungen für die bereits beschlossenen DMP Rückenleiden und Depressionen bis zum 31. Dezember 2016 zu verfassen.

Evaluationsberichte und Downloads

Wir haben die aktuellen Evaluationsberichte und weitere Dokumente des G-BA für Sie zum Download zusammengestellt. Weiter unten finden Sie außerdem weiterführende Links zu den DMP-Bereichen auf den Webseiten anderer am DMP beteiligter Akteure.